Conservation Champions

Conservation Champions

Nominations for 2013 awards will be accepted 
until 5 p.m. on Friday, November 1. 

Click here for a fillable PDF form.

In 2007, the NVCA started an annual tradition of honouring its Conservation Champions at an Evening of Thanks. Many of the NVCA's projects, designed to protect and improve our water and land resources, would not be possible without our partners in conservation.

Who are Conservation Champions?
Champions are those people who go above and beyond their part in helping the environment. They have made a significant contribution to the health of our watershed. They can be individuals, community groups, businesses, or agencies. There is also a Young Conservation Champion category open to individuals age 19 or under.

What conservation projects are eligible?
Eligible projects* include, but are not limited to:

  • environmental restoration projects
  • tree planting and forest management
  • environmental publications
  • environmental educational
  • donation of conservation land or easement
  • a financial contribution towards the purchase of conservation land or in support of an environmental project
  • implementation of environmental plans or policies
  • advocacy for the NVCA to stakeholders and decision makers.  

* All projects must have been completed within the NVCA watershed 
(click for map)

How do I nominate a Conservation Champion?
In late summer/early autumn, the nomination period is announced for the year and nominations forms are disseminated.  Nominators are encouraged to attach supporting materials such as photos, newspaper clippings or project reports. Self nominations are be accepted. Current NVCA staff and board members are not eligible.

How are Conservation Champions selected?
Nominations are reviewed and evaluated by the Conservation Champions Awards Committee.  Up to three Conservation Champions and one Youth Conservation Champion are selected each year.

The Evening of Thanks
Conservation Champions are honoured at the NVCA Evening of Thanks, which takes place in November at the Tiffin Centre for Conservation. 



For details on the contributions of this year's award winners, click here for the official press release.

2012 Conservation Champions winners  
(left to right) Mark Wagner accepting on behalf of Ron Wagner, Fred Somerville and Gini Oksanen for Somerville Nurseries, Ingrid and Bruce Keeling for the Huronia Woodland Owners' Association (not in attendance - Paul Sarlo)

2012 Conservation Champions - Young Champion
(left to right) Young Conservation Champion, Gleannan Perret, with Environmental Education Assistant Naomi Saunders



Conservation Champtions 2011 - Rotary Conservation Champtions 2011 - Dunsmores Conservation Champtions 2011 - Steelheaders
2011 Champions 
(left) NVCA Chair Walter Benotto with Rotary Club of Barrie members Stu McMillan and Jack Burke; 
(center) Oro-Medonte Mayor Harry Hughes with Rosemary and John Dunsmore; 
(right) Essa Mayor Terry Dowdall with Nottawasaga Steelheaders members Charlie Crosby and Peter Hubar

2010 - no awards given

 2009 Conservation Champions
2009 Champions 
(from left to right) John Cameron, Dan Pearson, Troy Wilson, Erin Evans, Bruce Haire, William Brooks, Connie Simo 

2008 Con Champ - NTSC 2008 Con Champ - Barrie Rotary
2008 Champions
(left) New Tecumseth Streams Committee, (right) Rotary Club of Barrie

2007 Con Champ - Barrie Rotary 2007 Con Champ - teachers
2007 Champions 
(left) Rotary Club of Barrie members Jerry Norman and David Mills with the NVCA's Shannon Stephens, (right) teachers Geoff Meadley and Andy Owens 

Printer Friendly